Central District News: New Editor

Your new CD News editor
Posted on June 17, 2013 by Megan Hill

When I noticed the post a few weeks ago announcing Tom Fucoloro’s departure, I had two thoughts: Those are some big shoes to fill. And, I think I can do that.

I’m pleased to announce I’ll have a shot at filling those shoes. I’m stepping in as your new Central District News editor, and I’m excited to be here.

I’m a Central District resident and a freelance writer. You may have seen my name in Edible Seattle or Seattle Weekly; I contribute to both regularly. Though most of my writing as a professional has been feature stories, I’m a trained journalist and I’m looking forward to getting back into hard news and reporting.

And I’m looking forward to putting my own spin on this site. To that end, I hope you’ll be patient with me as I get my sea legs. I hope in time I can create a site that you find reliable and enjoyable.

I also want to hear from you: What are you expectations? What do you like about the site, and what would you like to see change? Your ideas will be a big help moving forward.

Thanks, and let’s make this site a great one.
Share this:15 thoughts on “Your new CD News editor”

Tom Fucoloro on June 17, 2013 at 6:18 pm said:
You’re gonna be great! I look forward to following your coverage of the neighborhood.

Also, my shoes are size 10.5 if anyone wants to buy me some. They’re not too big 🙂
Reply ↓ gia on June 17, 2013 at 6:26 pm said:

congrats on your new job and welcome aboard! One of the things that i enjoy about not only our neighborhood, but this site as well, is the diversity. I hope that we can continue to be the voice of everyone in our neighborhood. Glad to meet you and looking forward to your imprint on this site 🙂
Reply ↓ JohnK on June 17, 2013 at 7:32 pm said:

Congrats to you on your new job and a big hats off to Tom for doing such a great job,,I agree with a previous poster that diversity is very important..The most important thing for me about this site happened today..I heard helicopters flying over my house, I logged on and immediately there was an update on here letting us know the news..Good Luck and we are very lucky to have a website for our neighborhood…..JFK
Reply ↓ Frank on June 17, 2013 at 8:45 pm said:

Welcome and thanks for stepping up!

Ryan A on June 17, 2013 at 10:59 pm said:

Thanks for stepping to the plate Megan. The things I rely most on CDNews for are: breaking CD news; transportation angles; development news; community info; and Grumbo. Good luck!

Eyes on June 18, 2013 at 8:07 am said:
look forward to your direction and growth of the CD news.

Sebastian Garrett-Singh on June 18, 2013 at 8:44 am said: Congratulations Megan. I look forward to seeing your coverage of the CD.

liesbeth robison on June 18, 2013 at 8:51 am said:

welcome new editor. 🙂
I loved all the power outage/mudslide/big tree/roadblock/festival updates. this was always extremely helpful and much appreciated. Thank you Tom and best of luck to you!

John Sewell on June 18, 2013 at 8:55 am said:

Thanks for taking on the job and best wishes! I’m particularly fond of when there are maps and photos along with the stories to help me locate the discussed item in our neighborhood. I hope you’re able to find resources to help with that.

Allecia Vermillion on June 18, 2013 at 8:58 am said:
Congrats Megan! I’m glad my neighborhood news blog will be in such capable hands. And I know I can count on some good beer coverage, too.

FNH on June 18, 2013 at 9:05 am said:
Welcome! I follow this site to keep up with neighborhood news and developments from near and far. Splitting our time between homes in the CD and in TX, CDN keeps us connected to the neighborhood year-round. Thank you to both incoming and outgoing editors for all of your hard work!

ktkeller on June 18, 2013 at 9:37 am said:
Welcome Megan! And thank you Tom for all you have done.
What I like to see: Breaking news and followup, CD focussed, human interest, event and community activities coverage and build a network of people who will report.

My only advice? Stay true to your mission as a journalist and stay strong when there slings and arrows cast 🙂

Omari on June 18, 2013 at 10:06 am said:
Your comment is awaiting moderation.
ARE YOU AFRICAN AMERICAN??? IF NOT YOU NEED A CO-EDITOR THAT IS AFRICAN AMERICAN? HOW IS THAT AFRICATOWN / CENTRAL DISTRICT NEWS WOULD HAVE ONLY A EUROPEAN COLONIAL SETTLER REDLINED / WHITELINED “GENTRIFICATION” EDITOR??????

REALLY IT SHOULD HAVE A DUWAMISH NATIVE AMERICAN EDITOR??? TROUBLE BREWING / IN THE MAKING???? “THE MORE THINGS CHANGE THE MORE THEY REMAIN THE SAME”!!!!! THE STRUGGLE CONTINUES, Omari Tahir, FOUNDER VICE-PRESIDENT AFRICAN AMERICAN HERITAGE MUSEUM AND CULTURE CENTER AT THE “DRONED” FORMER COLMAN SCHOOL SITE AT 23RD AND MASSACHUSETTS, CO-CHAIR BLACK ALLIANCE FOR EDUCATION (1970 TO PRESENT), AFRICATOWN / CENTRAL DISTRICT RESIDENT FOR 67 YEARS (1809 26TH AVE AND 424-24TH AVE EAST.

Del on June 18, 2013 at 10:41 am said:
Welcome aboard! My request? Avoid censorship. Clearly you need to police abusive and off topic language, but if any mention whatsoever – even when all the other news sites are covering it – of certain issues means comments are deleted or stories are just plain ignored as if they don’t exist, well, that makes readers go elsewhere. Fast.

Leave a Reply

